Distinction in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activities Committee

We are a campus of extraordinary scholars, scientists, and creators who individually and collectively advance work that matters. By identifying areas of distinction, we can better highlight our discoveries, tell our stories, and plan to extend our reach into new or emerging areas. The committee will create opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to discuss how the campus should approach achieving even greater distinction in research, scholarship, and creative activities over the next decade. Venues for discussion might include town hall meetings and open forums, both in-person and online, as well as focus groups and surveys. The cross-cutting themes of equity, social justice, and academic excellence should be central to every aspect of the committee’s work and meaningfully integrated into all committee outputs.

Read more about the Distinction in Research, Scholarly and Creative Activities Committee in the committee charge.

Committee membership

Jasmine Alinder, Dean of Humanities, co-chair
Paul Koch, Dean, Physical & Biological Sciences, co,chair
Heather Bell, Director, Research Development
Mike Beck, Research Professor, Institute of Marine Sciences & AXA Chair in Coastal Resilience
Elizabeth Cowell, University Librarian
Zonglin Di, Graduate student representative
Daniel Halpern-DeVries, Undergraduate student representative
Dee Hibbert-Jones, Associate Dean of Research, Exhibition & Engagement
Todd Lowe, Professor & Associate Dean for Research, Baskin Engineering
Mark Massoud, Professor, Politics and Legal Studies
Priya Mehta, Associate Vice Chancellor, Development
Jennifer Parker, Professor of Art, Founding Director of UCSC OpenLab
Irena Polic, Managing Director, The Humanities Institute
Connie Rockosi, Professor, Astronomy & Astrophysics
Ryan Sharp, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Innovation and Business Engagement
Gina Athena Ulysse, Professor, Feminist Studies, COR representative
Alex Wolf, Dean, Baskin Engineering

Staff Support

Derek DeMarco, Department Manager, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Contact us at: leadingthechange@ucsc.edu